M Art Center logo

Yayoi Kusama

Yayoi Kusama

Jun 25, 2011 ~ Jul 25

The works of Yayoi Kusama are categorized by critics into various artistic schools including feminism, minimalism, surrealism, art brut, pop art and abstract expressionism. However, in accordance with her description, she is only an obsessive artist. For her works, she attempts to present the deep-rooted contents featuring autobiography and sexual orientation. The methods she uses for creation include painting, soft sculpture, performance art and installation art.

In the early period of creation, Yayoi Kusama developed her own distinct style that she was expert at combining dotted pattern featuring high color comparison and mirror to cover the surface of variant articles such as wall, floor, canvas, articles available at home and naked assistant). She was well-known due to the consistency of her dress and works, short garment and strong eye shadow. Yayoi Kusama once said that these visual characteristics originated from her hallucination and she considered that these dots made up an infinity net that stood for her life.

What’s more, Yayoi Kusama also developed her unique feature “Reproduction”. Many of her works were displayed in the form of mushroom. After 1990s, Yayoi Kusama entered the field of commercial art to cooperate with the circle of garment design to present distinct garments characterized by unparalleled dots of Yayoi Kusama and started to sell many artistic commodities.

Yayoi Kusama is also one of contemporary writers in Japan. In the wake of her return to Japan and settlement in 1978, she had published more than 10 books including autobiography in succession. Besides the above-mentioned books, her books comprise

“Inflammation of Saint Marc” in 1985, “Between Earth and Heaven” in 1988, “Arch Ceiling Lamp” in 1989, “Dual Suicide of ”in 1989, “Such Anxiety” (poetry anthology) in 1989, “Angel of Cape Cod” in 1990, “Foxglove in Central Park” in 1991, “Lost in Swamp” in 1992, “New York Story” in 1993, “Psychiatric Hospital of Ants” in 1993, “Coercion of Violet” in 1998 and “New York of 1969” in 1998.

草间弥生室外海报 (1)